Sign In   |   Register

IPMI Thanks Our Generous Sponsors


2019 IPMI Student Awards Program

To support research focusing on precious metals, IPMI awards scholarships worth more than US$ 100,000 every year. These scholarships include:

 IPMI Student Awards

Up to 3 IPMI-sponsored Student Awards in the amount of up to US$ 20,000 each and US$ 5,000 for one of the student advisors.

 IPMI Corporate Student Awards

Several corporate-sponsored Student Awards in the amount of US$ 5,000 each sponsored by some of the most prestigious companies in the precious metals industry.


Students applying for an IPMI Student Award have to be enrolled in an academic training program (Masters, Ph. D., Postdoctoral research) performing fundamental or applied research focusing on any precious metal (Au, Ag, Pt, Pd, Ir, Rh or Ru), be it on the scientific side (catalysis, material, mining, refining, etc.) or on the commercial side (finance, marketing, etc.). Their expected graduation date must not be within the same year in which the award is received (e.g. an award winner of 2019 may not graduate before 2020).


The following application documents are required:

  • • Student CV (resume);
  • • Executive Summary of the research (maximum half-page), indicating the program the student is enrolled in, as well as the expected end-date of the program;
  • • Short research plan (maximum 2 pages) detailing research performed so far with results, as well as planned projects during the remaining time of the education program;
  • • Nomination/recommendation letter (maximum 1 page) from the supervising professor;

Students are welcome to add any other document they deem pertinent to their application (e.g. published papers, extended research details, academic grades, etc.).

Please submit one single pdf file containing all required documents; the file name should be as follows: "student last name student first name-academic institution" (for example: Smith John-Columbia University USA).

Please mail the pdf application to:

Student Award Winners

The student award winners are expected to attend IPMI’s Annual Conference in Reno, NV (USA) in June 2019, present their work in the Student Research Session and join the conference events. They will have many opportunities to meet and interact with people from the precious metal industry.

Students joining the conference will be reimbursed by IPMI (economy flights, to be purchased at the lowest available rate). Conference registration (including meals) and hotel reservation will be made by IPMI.

Timeframe Date Action

20 January 2019 Deadline for submitting application

31 March 2019 Award winners will be notified

15-18 June 2019 Conference in Reno, NV

Contact For questions or for additional information, please contact:

Sign In

Connect With Us
Calendar more

11/12/2018 » 11/13/2018
Europe Chapter Seminar- "8 Metals"

2/4/2019 » 2/6/2019
SAC and PRC Meetings

3/18/2019 » 3/20/2019














UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE               Washington, D.C. 20508              202-395-3230

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                           

September 17, 2018

Contact: USTR Public & Media Affairs

USTR Finalizes Tariffs on $200 Billion of Chinese Imports in Response to China’s Unfair Trade Practices

Washington, DC – As part of the United States’ continuing response to China’s theft of American intellectual property and forced transfer of American technology, the Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) today released a list of approximately $200 billion worth of Chinese imports that will be subject to additional tariffs.  In accordance with the direction of President Trump, the additional tariffs will be effective starting September 24, 2018, and initially will be in the amount of 10 percent.  Starting January 1, 2019, the level of the additional tariffs will increase to 25 percent. 

The list contains 5,745 full or partial lines of the original 6,031 tariff lines that were on a proposed list of Chinese imports announced on July 10, 2018.  Changes to the proposed list were made after USTR and the interagency Section 301 Committee sought and received comments over a six-week period and testimony during a six-day public hearing in August.  USTR engaged in a thorough process to rigorously examine the comments and testimony and, as a result, determined to fully or partially remove 297 tariff lines from the original proposed list.  Included among the products removed from the proposed list are certain consumer electronics products such as smart watches and Bluetooth devices; certain chemical inputs for manufactured goods, textiles and agriculture; certain health and safety products such as bicycle helmets, and child safety furniture such as car seats and playpens. 

In March 2018, USTR released the findings of its exhaustive Section 301 investigation that found China’s acts, policies and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property and innovation are unreasonable and discriminatory and burden or restrict U.S. commerce.

Specifically, the Section 301 investigation revealed:

  • China uses joint venture requirements, foreign investment restrictions, and administrative review and licensing processes to require or pressure technology transfer from U.S. companies.
  • China deprives U.S. companies of the ability to set market-based terms in licensing and other technology-related negotiations.
  • China directs and unfairly facilitates the systematic investment in, and acquisition of, U.S. companies and assets to generate large-scale technology transfer.
  • China conducts and supports cyber intrusions into U.S. commercial computer networks to gain unauthorized access to commercially valuable business information.

After separate notice and comment proceedings, in June and August USTR released two lists of Chinese imports, with a combined annual trade value of approximately $50 billion, with the goal of obtaining the elimination of China’s harmful acts, policies and practices.  Unfortunately, China has been unwilling to change its policies involving the unfair acquisition of U.S. technology and intellectual property.  Instead, China responded to the United States’ tariff action by taking further steps to harm U.S. workers and businesses.  In these circumstances, the President has directed the U.S. Trade Representative to increase the level of trade covered by the additional duties in order to obtain elimination of China’s unfair policies.  The Administration will continue to encourage China to allow for fair trade with the United States.


A formal notice of the $200 billion tariff action will be published shortly in the Federal Register. 

Click here to view the final tariff list




Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal